Second Consultative Meeting of the EU Non-Proliferation Consortium

Final Program

Location :

Hotel Silken Berlaymont Brussels
11-19, Boulevard Charlemagne
1000 Brussels, Belgium


June 17 and 18, 2013


Giorgio Franceschini
Associate Research Fellow

Monday, June 17, 2013

  • Welcome and Introduction into the Meeting
    • 9:00 – 10:00 : Registration and Welcome Coffee
    • 10:00 – 10:15 : Welcome Address and Introduction to the Meeting
      • Joëlle Jenny, Director for Security Policy and Conflict Prevention, European External Action Service - Directorate K
      • Harald Müller, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
  • 1. Session: Regional Proliferation Challenges and Options for the EU
    • 10:15 – 11:15 : The illicit spread of SALW in areas of weak and fragile statehood, especially MENA
    • 11:15 – 12:15 : Implementing the EU Common Position on arms exports: challenges and options
      • Chair: Harald Müller, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
      • Speaker: Sibylle Bauer, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
      • Comment: Nils Duquet, Flemish Peace Institute
    • 12:15 – 13:45 : Lunch
    • 13:45 – 15:45 : The European Union and programmes of key proliferation concern
    • 15:45 – 16:15 : Coffee Break
    • 16:15 – 18:00 : Syria’s multiple proliferation challenges and the European Union’s options

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

  • 2. Session: Weapons of Mass Destruction
    • 9:00 – 10:15 : Reflections on the CWC Review Outcome and the BTWC Intersessional Process
    • 10:15 – 11:30 : Options to Facilitate the CTBT Entry into Force
    • 11:30 – 12:00 : Coffee break
  • 3. Session: Space and Missiles
  • 4. Session: EU WMD Policies
    • 14:45 – 16:15 : The EU WMD Strategy after ten years: a critical appraisal and options for amendment (Panel discussion)
      • Chair: Camille Grand, Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique
      • Panelists: Ian Anthony, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
      • Panelists: Łukasz Kulesa, The Polish Institute of International Affairs
      • Panelists: Gerrard Quille, European Parliament
    • 16:15 – 16:30 : Further development of the network
      • Speaker: Camille Grand, Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique
    • Closing of the meeting
      • Harald Müller, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
      • Jacek Bylica, Principal Adviser and Special Envoy for Non-proliferation and Disarmament, European External Action Service

Effective attendance

AdamowiczMichalPermanent Representation of Poland to the EU
AldehoffLarissaPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Student
AmorielloAliceMinistry of Foreign Affairs, Italy
AnthonyIanStockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI),Sweden
BalciYaseminVerification Research, Training and Information Centre (VERTIC), United Kingdom
BauerSibylleStockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI),Sweden
BaumTomasFlemish Peace Institute, Belgium
Becker-JakobUnaPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Germany
BufalaManuelMinistry of Foreign Affairs, France
BuscailMarieMinistry of Foreign Affairs, France
BylicaJacekEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
ChardonStephaneEuropean Commission
CronbergTarja European Parliament
De GroofMélanieGroupe de Recherche et d’Information sur la Paix et la Sécurité (GRIP), Belgium
Depauw SaraFlemish Peace Institute, Belgium
FeyMarcoPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Germany
FitzpatrickMarkThe International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), United Kingdom
FlorquinNicolasSmall Arms Survey, Switzerland
FranceschiniGiorgioPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Germany
FrandiNicoEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
GanslandtClaraEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
Garrido RebolledoVicenteInstituto de Cuestiones Internacionales y Política Exterior (INCIPE), Spain
GrandCamilleFondation pour la Recherche Stratégique (FRS), France
GripLinaStockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI),Sweden
GrzendaDanielForeign and Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom
GuthrieRichardUniversity of Bath, United Kingdom
HansenSusanneNorwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU),Norway
HärfastLinnPermanent Representation of Sweden to the EU
HarriesMatthewKing's College London, United Kingdom
HautecouvertureBenjaminFondation pour la Recherche Stratégique (FRS), France
HorsburghNicolaUniversity of Oxford, United Kingdom
HournauDelphineMinistry of Foreign Affairs, France
IliopoulosDimitrisEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
IsbisterRoySaferworld, United Kingdom
JennyJoëlleEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
JohnsonRebeccaAcronym Institute, United Kingdom
KelleAlexanderOrganisation for the Prohibitition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
KienzleBenjaminKing's College London, United Kingdom
KlementStephaneEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
KmenttAlexanderMinistry of Foreign Affairs, Austria
KörömiJudithMinistry of Foreign Affairs, Hungary
KruschkeStefanPermanent Representation of Germany to the EU
MutschlerMaxGerman Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP), Germany
NeuneckGötzInstitute for Peace Research and Security Policy (IFSH), Germany
NielsenJennyThe International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), United Kingdom
PechtLea ManjanaPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Student
PéczeliAnnaHungarian Institute for International Affairs (HIIA); Corvinus University, Hungary
PeippoKimmoEuropean Council
PelopidasBenoitUniversity of Bristol, United Kingdom
PolakKlemenEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
PortoFedericoEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
QuilleGerrardEuropean Parliament
RobinsonJanaEuropean Space Policy Institute (ESPI), Austria
RouppertBérangèreGroupe de Recherche et d’Information sur la Paix et la Sécurité (GRIP), Belgium
RózsaErzsébetHungarian Institute for International Affairs (HIIA), Hungary
RudischhauserWolfgangEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
SchelstraeteSigurdMinistry of Foreign Affairs, Belgium
SunelaitisAidasMinistry of Foreign Affairs, Lithuania
ThielkingCarolineEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
TholensSimoneEuropean University Institute (EUI), Italy
TrappRalfIndependent Consultant
TrezzaCarloChairman Designate of Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), Italy
TsukanovaMarynaMinistry of Economy, SMEs, Foreign Trade and New Technologies of the Walloon Region, Belgium
VactimKomohenkoEuropean Parliament
Van HamPeterClingendael, Netherlands Institute of International Relations, The Netherlands
VasiuMihaelaEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
WheelerCarolEuropean External Action Service (EEAS)
WunderlichCarmenPeace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Germany
ZandersJean PascalDirector, The Trench